Article 19 of the University of Jaén statutes stipulates that departments are the teaching and research units responsible for organising, conducting and coordinating teaching and research relating to one or several areas of knowledge at one or more centres. Their activities must comply with the university’s broader study programme. Departments provide support for the activities and initiatives carried out by teaching staff and link them to the University of Jaén’s teaching and research programme. The university has 35 departments: